Author Topic: Mustachian couch ideas/tips?  (Read 4993 times)

TXScout2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachian couch ideas/tips?
« on: January 02, 2016, 07:17:38 PM »
I am a 34 y/o attorney, the only furniture in my living room is a hand-me-down futon and a folding chair.  I feel like I've been frugal enough long enough that I can upgrade my living room so that's it is a little better for hosting people.  Wondering if anybody has any tips on what couches are good quality, good value, etc.  I am thinking about getting a L-shaped couch.  Thanks in advance. 

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Mustachian couch ideas/tips?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 01:05:12 PM »
What will work depends a lot on your room size and layout.  I've never purchased a new couch, so they seem overpriced to me.  I have always had hand-me-downs from relatives or friends.  About to get a "new" couch since my SIL is getting a new one.

lbmustache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2016, 08:05:13 PM »
IKEA!!!! I love their couches and they are good quality at good prices. Both their fabric (I recommend the woven canvas ones or the tweed-ish looking ones) and leather seem very durable - no rips or worn out areas and I am not easy on my furniture at all.

I currently have this couch: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/00306294/#/90288667

And I added these legs to make it look less college-y: https://www.etsy.com/shop/thirteencolonies?ref=l2-shopheader-name

And the couch has been going strong for several years now. I will keep it till it falls apart!

This is actually my favorite ikea couch but I couldn't afford it at the time :( :http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S19031884/
« Last Edit: January 03, 2016, 08:07:23 PM by lbmustache »

TXScout2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2016, 09:33:24 AM »