Author Topic: Moving to Canada and need some advice  (Read 5299 times)

Odinthewanderer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Moving to Canada and need some advice
« on: June 07, 2016, 02:56:38 PM »
I have been a longtime lurker on this site and my impending move has finally jolted me into joining the community.  Any advice on my situation would be much appreciated! I have done some research on my own but am somewhat overwhelmed by the logistics of the move.

General Info:
I am a soon-to-be graduate student at the University of Alberta in Edmonton. I am moving in ~two weeks from Utah and will be arriving in Edmonton on/around July 1st.

Questions:
1.   Are there any easily accessible and dependable Canadian banks that would be good to open a checking account with?

2.   What are some good (affordable) cell-phone companies that operate in Canada? I am currently using republic wireless but I have heard that it doesn’t work well in some parts of Canada. I only use ~200mb of data and <100 minutes per month on my plan.

3.   Any other general advice?

Thanks!

Gerard

• Handlebar Stache
    • Optimacheap
Re: Moving to Canada and need some advice
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2016, 03:35:46 PM »
Hi Odin, welcome to the list and to Canada. Cool that you arrive around July 1, Canada Day.

There are basically only five (very large) Canadian banks: BMO, Scotiabank, CIBC, TD Canada Trust, and Royal Bank, plus National in the east. They're all equally dependable and accessible (there's more government oversight of banks here). You might also consider Tangerine or a supermarket-affiliated bank like President's Choice for stuff where you don't need to go in person. Be sure to tell your bank people that you're new to Canada, and that you're a graduate student. They may have special offers for you, or require less in the way of references etc.