Author Topic: Moving to Boulder, CO Area... Where to Live?  (Read 2567 times)

thestreetdream

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Moving to Boulder, CO Area... Where to Live?
« on: July 28, 2014, 10:36:33 AM »
Howdy all! First post here, but a long time lurker...

I'm a youngin' moving into my first residence and am close to finalizing a job in Boulder. I work as a software engineer and even if this opportunity does fall through I've been seriously considering moving up there anyway, as my recent forays into the freelancing world have been more successful than anticipated. However, while looking for lodging I've been quite dismayed at the overpriced apartment living that seems to dominate the Boulder area (a side effect of the university, I suspect). An apartment is not totally out of the question, but I'd very much like to *not* spend over a grand per month on a place that induces claustrophobia (and comes with renters fees, no in unit laundry, thin walls, etc. etc.) just to be in a "hip" area. Does anyone here have any suggestions for a good neighborhood where I could potentially rent a smaller house, preferably with a backyard? I'd like to be close to boulder, as that is where the potential main office would be, however I plan on doing a lot of skiing/mountain biking and will occasionally have to work/spend the day in Denver. If any fellow mustachians have places they are renting out feel free to speak up!

moneysense

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Moving to Boulder, CO Area... Where to Live?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 11:00:30 AM »
Try Louisville, Lafayette, Erie, and the MMM favorite--Longmont. Good luck!

m8547

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2014, 08:17:03 PM »