Author Topic: Moving. Should I sell my home?  (Read 3028 times)

BizCasual

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Moving. Should I sell my home?
« on: January 01, 2014, 12:52:24 AM »
Hello fellow Mustachians!

I’m new to the blog and the forum, and am looking for some expert advice on a question that I can’t seem to wrap my head around.

I currently own a home in Irvine, CA and recently accepted a job that will require me to relocate to the San Jose, CA area.  I purchased the home in Irvine for $625k and owe around $400k on the home @ 2.875% interest on a 15 year mortgage that I just refinanced into in the beginning of 2013.   Agents in the area are telling me that I can get around $650-670k if I try to sell it today. 

Additionally, my new employer, as part of the relocation package, is willing to pay the closing costs of selling the home and buying a new home.

What I’m trying to figure out is if it makes sense for me to:
A)   Sell the home in Irvine and buy a home in the Bay Area (where prices have increased pretty significantly in the past year)
B)   Keep the Irvine home and rent it out (the home would likely rent for ~$2800, which would leave me ~$1500/month cash flow negative after expenses including a property manager, but net positive when taking accrued equity into account), then rent in the Bay Area for the foreseeable future (a big chunk of our cash is tied up in the current home and in retirement accounts)
C)   Sell the home and buy a different investment property (and/or other investments)

The factors that are throwing me for a loop are that
1)   It may be silly, but we locked in a great loan and I’m not sure if I’m giving something up by selling. 
2)   I’m having trouble with the idea of leaving the “free” money from my new employer on the table, if I don’t sell my current home and buy a new one in the Bay Area.
3)   I have no experience as a landlord, and doubt the best way to learn is from 400 miles away