Author Topic: Moving out west, but I need to make some changes first  (Read 4337 times)

rk2012

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Moving out west, but I need to make some changes first
« on: April 21, 2012, 10:09:53 AM »
This will probably be longer than needed, but here it goes. I'm a single 29 year old, with an ok salary putting me in the 25% bracket making about $55K, living in Western New York State. I freelance on the side occasionally to bring in extra in income, but not much. I have no credit card debt. I have about $44K in student loan debt at 4.5%. I have about $7500 in student loan debt at 7% that I'm working on paying off first. I graduated about 6 years ago with $60K total.

Here's my current expenses per month:
$275/month rent (my half, split with roommate. 2500sq. ft house.)
$200 utilities (my half, gas, electric, internet, split with roommate)
$425 student loans (about 50/50 principal and interest)
$91 insurance
$325 car (I'll explain)
$25 gas
$250 food (I'm pretty strict on what I eat. I don't eat out. I don't snack. Close to nothing processed.)
$75 cell (I cannot get rid of this, since I develop apps)
About $1500 total per month

Up until last year, I paid little attention to saving. I was more worried about paying my expenses. After a promotion, it put me in a much better situation. Here's what I'm currently saving per month:

$370 401K (employer matches $160)
$200 in a savings with basically no interest
$100 in a ROTH IRA
$200 which sits in a brokerage account because I don't know what to do with it.

2x a year, an extra $1000 is put into the 401K from a bonus.

My balanaces are about:
$22K,000 in a 401K
$1,600 in ROTH IRA
$2,000 in brokerage, with $1,000 invested in a Schwab TIPS ETF
$3,500 in a savings account