Author Topic: Moving again / Better Quality of Life!  (Read 4310 times)

Bearblastbeats

Moving again / Better Quality of Life!
« on: October 04, 2012, 09:38:10 AM »
So after my three month stint in a small town 5 miles from my work, living by myself and my loyal companion of a dog and covering household expenses solo, I have decided to move back to the city I moved from initially. I am adding a 20 mile commute back to my schedule in order to live with my SO as well as our best friends. Sounds ludicrous!

Well, for the quality of life I think not.

Currently, I live alone. Away from friends. No place to play my drums. And living on top of a business I cannot even play music until after 8. Im a musician and being able to not enjoy a little Steely Dan while dish washing is a HUGE burden to me, since I favor music and activity over TV and being dormant.

This place is wonderful, if I was a quiet little mouse. $750 a month with all utilities included. I pay $35 a month for internet and my commute now is less than 5 miles. However, my friends are 30 minutes away, and my family another 40 on top of that.

My new plan I feel would be better for me at the expense of a little commute.

We are moving into a 3 bedroom, 2 full bath, 2000 SF house at $1575/month with nothing included.
My SO and I are paying $300 each plus share of utilities.
Our two roommates agreed to pay $487.50 each with share of utilities.
Since we as a unit are paying $112.50 a month more for technically less space, since we are in one bedroom we are getting one full bathroom to ourselves.

I think this is a reasonable way to split the cost. Especially since, the three of them all work in the city and I am the ONLY on who has a commute to work.

ALSO, this is the best part. Since we are getting a house, it has a almost finished basement with 9 foot ceilings. This is going to be my band room. One of the main reasons I'm willing to do this!!!