Author Topic: Ready to buy a car, but should I, which one, and insurance!  (Read 5478 times)

nikhilm

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Ready to buy a car, but should I, which one, and insurance!
« on: January 08, 2014, 03:53:45 PM »
Hi Mustachians,

I'm a Bay Area resident, who just finished a bit over an year working. My post tax income (including bonuses) for 2014 will be about $75000. I have no debt. In 2013 I saved about 45% of my income, my net worth is now nearing a 100k including the retirement fund.

I don't need a car for commuting, but I do a lot of hiking and backpacking, and have also started skiing. While I used to carpool with people, now that I'm more familiar with the risks, I want to undertake some solo adventures, and for that and the preparation for that, I'd like to have a car, purely for convenience.

The car would probably be used 4 days a month. While rentals sound like a good idea, the car will be sitting at one point most of that time (I drive 5 hours to a national park, spend 2-3 days hiking, drive back 5 hours). In addition I'm below 25, so rental car companies *fleece* me in insurance and underage fees. I've looked at RelayRides which is significantly cheaper for renting, but again I'd prefer to have something of my own, since RelayRides can't be guaranteed, especially during holidays weekends, and I'd hate to be stuck at home then.

Based on my low usage a really cheap car would be the best option, but I don't want to be stuck in the middle of nowhere, or have a car that is too weak to climb mountain roads. Is it a better idea then to spend a little more and get something nicer.
How about leasing a new car instead, since I will be below 12k miles/year easily (Since it is a recreational vehicle, if I near the upper bound, I can just not drive)?