Author Topic: Move out of my rent-free home, for a no-car commute?  (Read 5443 times)

luxend23

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Move out of my rent-free home, for a no-car commute?
« on: August 12, 2015, 08:57:23 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the Moustachian way of living and I have a tough dilemma on my hands. I'm 26 years old, I work as a cook for $10.50 an hour and I live with my parents. I wasted a lot of time and money partying in my youth, so I am just now pursuing my Bachelor's. I recently finished 2 years at community college, but due to lack of foresight, I've just decided my major and need another 3 years to get my accounting degree.

I only have about $1000 in emergency funds, I have $8,500 in student debt from a previous failed foray into schooling in my lazy youth, and a Vanguard mutual fund with only $1000 yet invested. Is it financially smarter to live in a rent-free, free food living situation while working part-time and going to school for 2.5-3 years; or should I pay for rent in order have a car-free commute? I am taking out about $25,000 in student loans to get an accounting degree, and I don't want to put my studies in jeopardy. I know that paying my debt down is important so I will work regardless of which choice I make. It's just a matter of how much I will definitively have to work. I have spent years trying to find a decent office job, but no one has hired me so I am stuck working long hours in hot and dangerous kitchens. It is truly miserable and I am ready to get my bachelor's to move on to a better way of life, even if it means being broke the first few years out of college just to pay off my debt.