Author Topic: move in with family with longer commute?  (Read 1994 times)

practik

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
move in with family with longer commute?
« on: February 21, 2018, 08:09:41 AM »
Hello friends,

I am a young professional in DC and single. I have been living alone in 1 bedroom/studio in a nice apartment complex with a gym and nice amenities. Was getting a good deal since it was an affordable dwelling unit, but my lease is up and I'm month to month at market price. I am debating a move out to Reston VA from Washington DC to stay with extended family for much cheaper rent. I have about 6 months left in the area before I move out of the state.

Currently I spend quite a bit on housing

DC:
2100/mo for rent + parking
~200 for internet + utilities
so 2300 total
Commute to work: <2 miles. drive 15-20 mins. when the weather is nicer I would occasionally walk, bike, or metro

Moving to virginia would make my commute ~1.5 hours one way with ~10 minute drive to metro, taking 1 hr on metro, then ~10 minute shuttle to work. Or ~1-1.5 hr drive with traffic (~45 mins without traffic). I could study on the metro or relax.
But my rent would decrease to 600 with utilities included
adding cost of metro would be ~280
so 880 total.

I also have loving parents who spoil me and who said they would be willing to help me with rent of I move to encourage this, so potentially I would be saving even more cash.

I would also have to pay movers to help me so have to factor in a bit for that maybe 300 total?