Author Topic: Mortgage Payment - To Eliminate PMI  (Read 3036 times)

Chiron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mortgage Payment - To Eliminate PMI
« on: February 11, 2013, 04:36:26 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the MMM community.  I've read quite a few of the blog articles and think the general philosphy is great.  I have a decision coming up and am wondering what everyone's take on my thinking is.

I am considering making a large principal payment on my mortgage to eliminate PMI.   I'm assuming I'll stay in my house for 8 years.  This would require making a $36k payment next month.  I would save $137/month in PMI for the next 86 months (when my mortgage would naturally hit 80% LTV assuming no appreciation).  I would also save ~$8k in interest over that time period after backing out my tax deduction.  Thus, my total savings would be (137*86)+8000 = $19,782. 

The alternative is to put the $36k in a brokerage account and buy index funds (I'm set on emergency fund and tax advantaged accounts).  Assuming that grows at a 6.8% rate, I will have $24,935 in gains after 8 years.  Subtracting 20% capital gains tax leaves me with $19,948 - about the same as the other scenario.  The break-even return in these circumstances seems to be around a 6.8-7% return.

First question - is my math correct?  Are there any unreasonable assumptions here?

Second question - it seems obvious to me to make the payment and take the guaranteed ~7% return rather than attempt to beat that return by investing.  I understand that historically equities have performed slightly higher than this, but the marginal difference is far from guaranteed.  A friend is trying to convince me I can beat that in the market, but I'm skeptical.  I know the right answer depends partially on subjective factors (like risk-tolerance), but I thought I'd ask - what would you do?

I would appreciate any help fellow mustachians could offer!

ncornilsen

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Mortgage Payment - To Eliminate PMI