Author Topic: Mortgage paydown or Retirement Savings?  (Read 6178 times)

IWannaBeFree

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mortgage paydown or Retirement Savings?
« on: March 28, 2012, 09:44:50 AM »
I'm new to the Mustachian ways, and would love to get your thoughts on the below question.  I believe that my wife and I are doing many things right, but also not living nearly the frugal lifestyle that we should.  Here is some info, and my question:

Retirement funding (pre-tax): Max out 401k annually, and Max out Roth IRA (for last 3 years)  - Balance in 401k's is $400k
Taxable accounts: $50k
Debt:  only Mortgage (very unmustachian $250k on $320k home - I know, I know...i'm embarrassed - 26 years left - OUCH!!!)

Question:
Should I divert all $$ allocated toward 401k funding (above the company match limit of 5%) to paydown the mortgage more quickly (assuming no change in tax-bracket)? What if doing this disqualifies me for my Roth contribution?

I would like to work another 5-7 years, and then be truly Free!

Don't hold back!  Thanks, and loving this forum!
IWannaBeFree

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Mortgage paydown or Retirement Savings?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 09:48:07 AM »
What is your mortgage rate?

Any chance you can move to a cheaper place?

IWannaBeFree

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 11:27:13 AM »
5.25% on a 30yr fixed (with home value decline, probably only have 5-8% equity now).  We could certainly move to a cheaper place, but wife will fight it kicking and screaming due to neighbors and school district.

Ben

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 12:14:37 PM »
Three thoughts (assuming the pushing-the-Roth-IRA-envelope situation is not hypothetical):