Author Topic: Moral or immoral when it comes to money - does it matter?  (Read 15771 times)

Cap_Scarlet

• Bristles
    • EarlyRetireFree
Moral or immoral when it comes to money - does it matter?
« on: August 10, 2014, 02:21:40 AM »
Here's a question which I would like views on.

When I "retire" i could technically claim unemployment benefit for around 12 months even though I have no intention of ever looking for another job.  The benefit would be worth around $30-35,000 which would mostly offset my first years retirement costs.

I have been working for almost 30 years and have never made a claim for unemployment or any other benefits.

To make the claim is not illegal but there are some who believe in these financially constrained times that it is morally wrong (as we don't need the money).

What do you think?

fixer-upper

• Bristles
Re: Moral or immoral when it comes to money - does it matter?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 02:28:36 AM »
You'd have to commit fraud to make the claim.

Cap_Scarlet

• Bristles
    • EarlyRetireFree
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2014, 03:28:55 AM »
You'd have to commit fraud to make the claim.

Why fraud?  I might decide to take another job if something suitable came up.

Paulie

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2014, 03:36:48 AM »
Don't you need proof that you are at least looking for another job? In the Netherlands you have to send out letters and stuff like that, otherwise they will cut you off. But anyway, I don't think it's appropriate to do this.

cdttmm

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2014, 04:50:03 AM »
In most states, when you retire (aka QUIT) your job, you don't qualify for unemployment. You'd have to finagle someway for your employer to lay you off or fire you (but depending on your state, if you are fired for cause you wouldn't get unemployment either).

jeffersonpita

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2014, 06:00:41 AM »