Author Topic: MMM and YNAB  (Read 2416 times)

MountainLakeMama

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
MMM and YNAB
« on: March 29, 2021, 04:00:29 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm just getting started (late start- I'm 43) with MMM/FIRE ideas. However, I've been a YNAB user for... too many years to count (back when it was still a desktop program you had to install).

Anyway, I was searching and searching for an easy to use spreadsheet to track my progress and re-discovered YNAB reports! Does anyone use YNAB alone to track their progress to FI? Any tips or words of wisdom? It would be great if I could just have everything in YNAB since I love it and use it so much anyway.

Life in Balance

• Bristles
  • FIREd in 2019
Re: MMM and YNAB
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2021, 04:24:21 PM »
I can't say it's the only thing I used to track my progress to FI, but I do use YNAB to keep track of my net worth, including my FIRE funds.  I have my retirement accounts from work (403b, in my case) and my Roth as Off Budget accounts so I can track balances.  I update each account on the first of the month by just adding or subtracting the difference from the previous month's balance.  So, I don't track contributions vs. dividends vs. gains/losses.  But it allows me to see quickly how much money is in which account and what my overall total is.  For my house, I used two Off Budget accounts:  one for the value of the house (updated every 3 or so years as my housing market is pretty stable) and one for the mortgage balance.  I would update on the first of the month with the amount that went to principal from my on-budget PITI payment.  When I paid off the mortgage, I just closed that account and left the account that showed the value.  When I use the Net Worth reports, I can include or exclude the house value as desired by selecting the accounts to consider for Net Worth.

I should add:  I still use YNAB4.

I also tracked these things in a spreadsheet so I could play with changing contributions, forecasting, etc.