Author Topic: Mistake in switching legal practice area?  (Read 5318 times)

Aki

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mistake in switching legal practice area?
« on: July 07, 2015, 10:09:34 PM »
I'm a lawyer practicing in an area of law I like but am a bit burned out by the same work and tired of the office politics.  I think I could FIRE now but I'd probably feel more comfortable if I worked another year or two or three (I'm 44, DH is 45).  I've decided to make a switch in practice areas but I'm not sure if it was the right move and I'm all of a sudden terrified to start something completely new and different.  I was pretty much coasting before and feel like I've now voluntarily added all of this stress to my life and last few years of work.  The switch won't happen for a few weeks and it would be tough to change course at this point.  Any thoughts would be appreciated!         

StockBeard

• Pencil Stache
Re: Mistake in switching legal practice area?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 01:41:39 AM »
Change is always tough, but it also prevents your life from becoming a boring routine...
I love my routine, but I also force myself to do dramatic changes once in a while, just to make sure I don't become a boring person. Not sure if that makes sense, but I think you did not necessarily make a bad choice here

Aki

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 02:56:36 AM »
Thanks for the comments.  My other concern is wanting to spend more time with my aging parents and in-laws, who have some health issues.  I can do it where I'm at with relative ease and I'm sure the new boss would be very understanding about that but I'd feel some pressure to prove myself, at least early on.  One of my big reasons for FIRE is spending more time with our parents--it's heartwrenching for me to see them age.     

Gray Matter

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 06:40:40 AM »