Author Topic: Mini-retirement or not?  (Read 1843 times)

stupendous_stash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mini-retirement or not?
« on: January 18, 2018, 02:10:59 PM »
MMM veterans -
I have been working for past 13 years (my age is 36) and was let go from my job last month with a good severance. I have been following MMM, mad fientist etc but haven't really committed to FIRE yet. I am just not sure what I would do all day long. Besides, I need about 5 years of full time work to reach my SWR saving number.

I am close to getting a job offer so I have two very good options to choose from :

1) Take a mini retirement (about 9 months) paid off by severance and try to get a taste of post-fire life. My daughter goes to school so I will not be going off on a vacation till June. It will force me to be creative with my time. Then take summer off and travel before finding another job in September.

2) Take up another job right away. Save 100% of severance and reach savings goal a full year early. However, I am not convinced I will quit when I reach the number anyway.

I am utterly confused on how to evaluate these options. Any comments are much appreciated.

Thanks!

Mother Fussbudget

• Pencil Stache
Re: Mini-retirement or not?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 03:28:12 PM »
As in all things, I would suggest there's at least a third option - a middle-ground path - if not more.  Your FI savings has put YOU in charge of your future, and YOU can choose what you want to do next.  I usually recommend people seek out the things that Bring Them The Most Happiness.  That could be something like travel, DIY home improvement projects, volunteering at the local animal shelter, or as a parent volunteer at their daughter's school, or reading to kids at the local library or Children's Hospital.   WHATEVER that is, you'd not likely to discover that while working 40+ hours a week at a wage earning job.