Author Topic: Military FIRE questions-9 yrs from Retirement  (Read 2026 times)

dschnaak

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Military FIRE questions-9 yrs from Retirement
« on: May 21, 2018, 10:05:35 PM »
I am a recent convert to Mustachianism and want to make sure that I’m maximizing my opportunities for my family’s future.  I’d love some military specific advice on how best to proceed. 

Background:
I am 33, married, and have two kids (1.5 y.o. twins).  I am an Active Duty officer in the US Army, 9 years from being able to retire and collect a pension at age 42.  My wife works full time as a Registered Nurse.  We currently live in California where my wife is making substantially more than she ever has, and likely ever will again, but will be moving back to Colorado next summer.  Her pay will be roughly half of what she currently makes when we move back to CO and we are trying to make the most of our current income to set ourselves up for success.  We are also considering having another kid once we move back to CO, so her income might drop to $0 for a while.  We have no debts other than the mortgage on our rental home and we want to be FI and free to do what we want at the time of my retirement in 9 years.  I enjoy my job and am happy to continue working for another 9 years.

Income:
$7350 monthly pretax salary (~$6100 take home)* No State tax
$3975 monthly basic allowance for housing which we do not see (automatic allotment for military privatized housing)
$9200 wife’s monthly pretax salary (~$6500 take home)* CA State tax
$1695 monthly rental income

Monthly Expenses:
~$5200- Mortgage, Childcare, Utilities and Groceries, are >85% of this. we’ve cut out most luxuries but are still working to chip away at this.

Current assets:
$20k in my TSP/Roth TSP (CSI 40/40/20).
$16k in my Roth IRA
$36k in wife’s IRA
$32k in wife’s Roth IRA
$10k in house down payment account