Author Topic: Microphones, screencasts, podcasts, etc. (Questions. I have them!)  (Read 635 times)

ObviouslyNotAGolfer

• Pencil Stache
I am a university professor and I started teaching fully asynchronous classes (no set meeting time, everything done online) in 2018--well before the pandemic. I actually LIKE this mode of instruction a lot even though everyone  else seems obliged to sadly shake their heads in sorrow and mumble something to the effect that nothing beats in-person interaction. I beg to differ--at least for SOME classes. In polling my students last semester, the majority (75%) said--pandemic or not--they would like to have the option of fully online instruction for at least SOME of their classes.

In any case, I record and upload screencast lectures (voice-over PowerPoint and other digital media) for my students every week, and it is very time-consuming. Fortunately, I can re-use most of the ones I have done previously, so I am looking at a much lower workload in the coming several weeks.

ANYWAY,

I have been finding my self spending an inordinate amount of time editing my screencast recordings (voice-over PowerPoint slide lectures) captured in Camtasia with a Blue Yeti condenser microphone. We have a pretty decent tech support group at our university, and they are usually helpful, but I understand this microphone they recommended is the WRONG kind for voice. Everyone else I know in the recording engineering business tells me I need a dynamic microphone and not a condenser--that condensers are too sensitive and will pick every fine nuance of every breath, grunt, and other vocal noise anyone makes while speaking.