Author Topic: Meals/Recipes for "Foodies"  (Read 3579 times)

lexde

• Magnum Stache
Meals/Recipes for "Foodies"
« on: November 22, 2019, 01:05:47 PM »
What are your favorite meals/recipes that will satisfy even the toughest critics?

I just moved into a kitchen I can actually cook in now, and would love to host date nights/dinners at my place rather than going out to eat all the time. I am a fairly good cook, and would really like to start directing my date nights into at-home meals.

What are some of your go-to meals that are on the fancier side/restaurant quality but made at home on the cheap?

Some of my current recipes in rotation:
  • Champagne-asparagus risotto (asparagus is frozen from TJ's so it does not go to waste!)
  • Steak and garlic-whipped potatoes
  • Bolognase
  • Carbonara
  • Cacio e Pepe
  • Tacos/Fajitas
  • Spatchcock Chicken

BrightFIRE

• Stubble
Re: Meals/Recipes for "Foodies"
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2019, 02:55:39 PM »
I don't have a regular rotation. I tend to try something new each time.

Past successful dinner party dishes include:
https://www.davidlebovitz.com/wine-harvesters-chicken-recipe/
Julia Child's Beef Bourgignon
https://smittenkitchen.com/2009/01/mushroom-bourguignon/ - for vegetarians

Also, if you do brunches, the best I ever did was a make-your-own waffle brunch. I made an overnight batter in a 8C measuring cup so that it could be poured directly into the waffle maker. I had a bunch of different toppings available and friends brought OJ, coffee and champagne.

honeybbq

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2019, 03:00:12 PM »
Chicken with sun dried tomatoes, capers, and artichokes:

https://juliasalbum.com/mediterranean-chicken-sun-dried-tomatoes-artichokes/

I have this at least once a month. I usually serve with some green beans and a salad. Takes 30 minutes start to finish for the whole meal.