Author Topic: Mature university student with question about OSAP and applying for bursaries.  (Read 1433 times)

MyHilariousUserName

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm going to try to keep this as short and uncomplicated as I can.

I qualify for the free tuition, plus grants for first in the family, permanent disability, having young kids etc... Last year I was a part time student and was eligible for very little aid, mostly loans. This year I'm a full time student and I noticed that there was a lot more money for first semester than second semester. I applied for a bursary to help me stay above water and avoid using the loan portion and a private donor came forward. Then a couple of weeks ago, OSAP was recalculated and I received more cheques in the mail, not direct deposits. The OSAP website says it was recalculated, but the math doesn't add up. Do I call and ask if OSAP made a mistake or just accept it? Added to the money I was expecting, it's more money that I received in the first semester.

It's a very expensive school and in an expensive city, so maybe that was part of it? I'm torn whether this is a real problem or just me being paranoid.