Author Topic: Masters in comp Sci. Worth it?  (Read 1937 times)

trompowsky87

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Masters in comp Sci. Worth it?
« on: July 07, 2019, 08:32:47 PM »
Hey all,

Is a masters in comp Sci worth the time and money. I'm 5 years into a IT career. I'm Currently a sysadmin. Seems like a masters will offer me many more job options. I should mention that I do not posses a degree in IT, just a bachelors in physics.
Also, I don't have any interest in management.

On the other hand, Certifications are cheaper. Any thoughts are welcomed.

secondcor521

• Walrus Stache
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
Re: Masters in comp Sci. Worth it?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2019, 08:53:12 PM »
Depends on where you want to go with your career.  I'd consider a second bachelor's in CS instead of a master's.  I have a BSCS and MBA and worked for about six different companies doing firmware and software development and testing.  None of the six companies paid more for a master's.

I never did the certification route.  My impression is that certifications are valuable currency in the IT world but pretty much worthless in software engineering.

Do you want to continue in IT or switch to software development?

bacchi

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2019, 09:33:53 PM »
Grad school in CS is fun and challenging but I wouldn't do it without a good background in CS. ^^ Get a 2nd bachelor's.

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2019, 10:31:33 PM »
I did a master's in computer science after a bachelor's in computer engineering. I have doubts about whether it actually opened up any career opportunities that would have been unavailable if I had instead spent those two years in the software job I was offered straight out of college. It was probably a poor move from a purely financial perspective. That said, I definitely enjoyed it more than I would have enjoyed that job.