Author Topic: Masters Degree Question  (Read 11440 times)

allergic2average

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Masters Degree Question
« on: September 04, 2014, 07:54:41 PM »
For those of you who have an MS in Education or an MS in general, did you get a scholarship, grant or money from an organization in order to obtain it? If you did could you please share the name of the scholarship, grant or name of the organization please.  I'm pursuing my MS next year so all information shared would be greatly appreciated :-) I already googled stuff for my field and there isn't anything, so I thought I would go for something more general or perhaps merit based.  Truth be told since I graduated from high school in Bolivia and paid half out pocket while the other half is covered by my job for my undergrad I have zero experience in looking for scholarships for grad school. 

DecD

• Bristles
Re: Masters Degree Question
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 08:16:59 PM »
I was funded through the university.  I am an engineer.  I've done a lot of post-undergrad education and all has been funded via private organizations but through the university itself.  I was invited to apply, or they applied for me, or I found the info on the school's website and applied myself. Have you asked the financial aid office about options?  Explored their site for links?

I've also known many students funded through teaching assistantships.  These can be obtained through your department or others.  For example, I knew several engineers funded by the foreign language department.  Can you teach Spanish to undergrads to fund your masters?

LibrarIan

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2014, 06:27:44 AM »