Author Topic: Master's or Something Else?  (Read 3201 times)

macleod7066

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Master's or Something Else?
« on: March 10, 2017, 12:19:05 PM »
I have a unique problem/gift, that I need some advice or new ideas on.  I am a veteran with access to about 10.5 months of Post 9/11 GI Bill to use up by 2020.  The interesting thing about this program is they give me a stipend for books of $1000 a year, and also pay me a monthly housing allowance to go to school.  For my area that would be $1441 for full time (12 Credits can be mixed in class and online), with it being prorated based on how many credits I take and a minimum of over 50% time to get it.  If I go solely online school I get paid $805 a month for full time.  Based on this I am leaving money on the table if I do not go to school.  So I am trying to determine exactly what to do, and what would help me in the long run.  Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated.

A little background information on myself, I work for the DOD GS-13, non-manager, working supply chain management and make around $100k a year.  I have no intentions of leaving the security of the Federal Government, unless I was offered a crazy salary, think double the current, at a private industry.  My skills (at least what I think), lie in analyzing processes and improving them, and managing complex projects.  For example, I redesigned our systems access for the agency I work for from the ground up in order for us to be audited, and that was fun to me. I have a passion for analyzing businesses, and one day will figure out how to start my own consulting for the many small business that surely could use someone helping them streamline and save costs.  Furthermore, I currently have an Associate in Information Technology, and a Bachelor in Business Management.