Author Topic: Master's Degree - InfoSec?  (Read 3029 times)

jeromedawg

• Walrus Stache
Master's Degree - InfoSec?
« on: March 12, 2015, 03:55:28 PM »
Hey all,

So I've been contemplating pursuing a Master's Degree in infosec with an organization that I've already gotten several infosec certifications from. I graduated with a BA in Intl Studies and work as a QA Engineer now but have held several security engineering/analyst jobs in the past. Been in the workforce now for about 10 years or so. The particular organization I'm thinking about going with just got accredited and, based on some initial conversations, since they've been piloting the program even before that, seems like I would likely get accepted despite my irrelevant Bachelor's degree. They are a pretty well-known organization in the infosec industry. I know I could probably go the easier route and get an IS/cybersecurity degree from many other online universities that offers it (and for less $$$), but I've often heard that those programs aren't really that great because there's usually a detachment of real-world experience from those teaching, as well as for other similar reasons (I guess, in a nutshell, they can often be described as "mile-wide inch-deep")

My work offers tuition assistance of up to $50k for up to a 5 year graduate program (they recently changed tuition assistance providers and I think this one is a little better and more flexible at least for graudate program assistance). I would say one of the factors for me being wishy-washy before they changed providers, was definitely cost. But even then, it still wouldn't have cost *that* much for me to do considering they still would have covered a majority of the costs. At this point, I'm pretty sure the current tuition assistance would cover most if not all of the cost of the program I'm considering.