Author Topic: Married into Student Debt  (Read 6983 times)

amyable

• Bristles
Married into Student Debt
« on: July 15, 2012, 08:56:56 PM »
Hello Everyone--

There is no easy way to say this--I an living in student debt hell. 

I graduated from college in 2008 with a M.A. in Education and no student loan debt thanks to generous scholarships.  I immediately started working as a teacher, and I love almost every minute of my work.  I make $39,000.  I am 28 years old, and my only asset is a 2011 Honda Fit.

In 2002, I started dating my husband.  During my first two years of college, he was working to support his terminally ill mother and unable to attend school.  In 2004, he entered school, and during the first two years he made the Dean's List, but also racked up $10,000 in student loan debt.  We talked about it, and it seemed like small potatoes--I was sure he would be able to pay it easily. 
During the summer of 2007, my husband's mother died of cancer.  Everyone recommended that he take some time off, but he continued with school and, due to a major depressive episode, failed all of his classes for two years without telling anyone.  We married in 2009, and I thought he would graduate in 2010--I had no clue.  Instead, I ended up paying for the remainder of his school and subsequent treatment for depression from 2010-now.  He has been finishing about 6 hours a semester and will finally graduate in December 2012.

He has $40,000 in student debt that I now share, and I am pretty much broke after paying for his school and treatment.  Without a college degree, he is working an entry level job, making $25,000 a year.  I don't know if he will get a better job directly after graduation.  I love him and a divorce is out of the question, but I feel like I've been screwed.   I know his depression was a major factor, and I am selfish to feel this way.