Author Topic: Managers - hiring staff  (Read 7475 times)

marty998

• Walrus Stache
Managers - hiring staff
« on: September 25, 2014, 06:01:22 AM »
I'm a relatively new manager but already I've had to go through the hiring process a couple of times. Fortunately for the best of reasons - firstly getting a replacement for me after I was promoted, and now for a staff member who has secured a promotion in another area.

It's a fascinating experience. I've learned that I am incredibly picky and that I am patient enough to wait for a standout candidate to turn up. A good thing imo, even if it drives my manager crazy. Apparently I'm too judgemental and dismissive.

Questions:
- What do you look for in a new hire?
- What are your non-negotiables?
- What are your deal breakers?

RiskDown

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Managers - hiring staff
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 01:15:02 PM »
Questions:
#1 ability to problem solve
#2 human decency -- able to get along with co-workers... smartest guy in the room is irrelevant if no one will work with you.
#3 initiative/ Seek to improve processes.
#4 I want them to naturally regulate themselves, think about their strengths and weaknesses, and be their own biggest critic.

- What are your non-negotiables/deal breakers?
#1 failure to have #1-4 above
#2 bias communication/partial truth telling

Difficulty: I'm not a manager, and have never been one... but tend to see-big-picture, better than average.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2014, 01:20:13 PM by RiskDown »

Terrestrial

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 03:18:19 PM »
What to look for:
By far the two most important areas I have found in the best employees are:
- Intelligence/Learning Ability.  I will (and have) hired people who are extremely bright and pick things up quickly over people with a little more experience but who seem lacking in those areas, because after the initial learning curve you end up with a much better employee.