Author Topic: Malaysian Case Study - Buy a house with cash or loan & invest?  (Read 4249 times)

ferox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Greetings from South East Asia, I'm a noob Mustachian, 32 years old, married without kids in Kuala Lumpur looking for some advice. I just sold a home for $1.4million (money is in MYR, but I'll just use $ for simplicity sake) and am unsure of what to do with the money. I intend to settle down in a smaller town about 45mins away from the city center.

Cash in hand from sale: $1,400,000
New house cost: $1,000,000 (for a 2900 sqft linked home)
Mortgage rates: 4.45%
Max loan amount: $600,000 - repayment $2800/month for 35 years
CD rates: 3.8%
Income: $96000 yearly
Savings: $0
Bad debt: $120,000 @ 18%

First plan of action is to pay down the bad debt. But the next question is should I take out a loan and invest the rest, or just pay for the next house in cash. Initial back of envelope calculations indicates that taking the loan and investing it on say a Vanguard ETF fund with at least a 4% real returns is better. (as a NRA, I do not get tax on capital gains but a 15% witholding tax on dividends)

The other thing I tried to look at is downsizing the house. But the surrounding property prices is crazier:
  • $1,5-1,600,000 for a 3700-3800 sqft house
  • $1,000,000 for the 3 storey, 5 bedroom, 2,900sqft house I want
    note: this is the total build up area on a 22' x 70' house (typical for the country)
  • $850,000 for a 1,500sqft condo
  • $5-600,000 for a 1200-1300sqft apartment
  • $330,000 for 470sqft studio
Yes I realize that 2900sqft is overkill for 2 persons, my reasons for wanting to go with the bigger house:
  • The $ per sqft is the lowest among all, making it a great value buy
  • The house is built almost like a duplex, I can rent out the other 4 bedrooms for at least $2400 and live with the wife on the highest floor
  • Condos/Studios are in oversupply and allocation for houses is much more limited (i.e. no one can build more houses