Author Topic: Making the leap into the MMM lifestyle  (Read 6098 times)

takara159

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Making the leap into the MMM lifestyle
« on: April 04, 2013, 09:18:04 PM »
First off hello to everyone. I am a newbie to this forum and to the MMM lifestyle but my new wife and I are embracing it fully. A friend of ours introduced us to the blog right before he quit his job and became FI. So while he and his wife are living the laid back lifestyle, we toil away in our cubicles. So we are on a mission to catch up to them. Below is a little insite into our current situation and would appreciate any suggestions from the community on what we can do to improve things even further.

The Good:
I earn about $140k gross income
Wife earns about 60k gross
We have about $250,000 in investments + $150,000 in cash sitting a money market.
Contributing the max matching to my 401k
Reduced my dining out monthly expenses from $500 down to about $50
Wife is saving 100% of her income , is consolidating all her 401k and IRAs from previous jobs into a Vanguard IRA.
I am saving about 50% of my income and moving it into Vanguard Index Funds
I take the bus to work every day.
We have one car that's completely paid off and it takes us to the transit center and to Costco on the weekends.
Nearly every financial decision right down to buying a cookie at Specialties is analyzed and weighted before being executed
Wife has rental property that rakes in a few extra dollars after we factor in the mortgage on the property.

The Not So Good:
I still have a car that's financed albeit at a 2.5% interest rate and with a monthly payment of $314 . Trying to sell it so we can throw that money into more investments.
I have a mortgage that's underwater by about 30k at the moment making a $1700 a month payment
« Last Edit: April 06, 2013, 01:29:40 PM by takara159 »

MtnGal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Making the leap into the MMM lifestyle
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2013, 09:13:56 AM »