Author Topic: Made Greek Yogurt - Now What To Do With The Whey?!?  (Read 7780 times)

Mrs. PoP

• Bristles
    • Planting Our Pennies
Made Greek Yogurt - Now What To Do With The Whey?!?
« on: August 14, 2014, 04:40:02 PM »
Okay, so I've been making yogurt for about 6 months now (using this: http://www.amazon.com/Instant-Pot-IP-DUO60-Programmable-Generation/dp/B00FLYWNYQ), and I've been making it thick and then straining it through coffee filters to get it extra thick.  So tasty... but I digress. 

All the while (well, the last 4 months or so), I've been saving the whey since I was told you could make homemade ricotta out of it.  Well, finally got a gallon of whey together and tried it... no luck.    Not a single curd of ricotta formed in my whey/vinegar mixture.  It was very disappointing. 

So since ricotta is out - what should I be doing with my whey? 

Helvegen

• Pencil Stache
Re: Made Greek Yogurt - Now What To Do With The Whey?!?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 04:41:24 PM »
Now I found a new thing I need to buy.

minimustache1985

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2014, 04:52:11 PM »
What recipe do you use?  I have a (different) pressure cooker and may be inclined to try this!

Unfortunately, I have no idea what you could do with the whey.

EarlyQuit

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2014, 04:53:26 PM »
You can cook in whey instead of water (or mix it with water), if you are making quinoa, for example, or rice. Also, you can substitute it for milk in certain recipes, like quiches. Just be mindful of the amount of spices you are adding, b/c whey tends to be already a bit salty and you may need less salt than what the recipe calls for. You can add it to soups and marinate meats in it... You can also make homemade ketchup with yogurt whey... don't remember the recipe off the top of my head, but let me know if you want it and I will find it. Or I am sure you can just google it too.
That's all I've been using it for.