Author Topic: Macbook vs. Chromebook?  (Read 7797 times)

superone!

• Stubble
Macbook vs. Chromebook?
« on: July 18, 2014, 01:07:26 AM »

Hello moustachio'd ones. I'd love some advice on wise computer buying practice...

Computers aren't really buy it for life kinds of acquisitions, unfortunately...

I recently started a new job in which I will be able (and possibly required) to occasionally work from home. Awesome! Except that I am not issued a laptop as I had hoped I would be. My home computer is a Macbook from 2007 that I've been stringing along for a few years. It's updated to its fullest RAM and software capacity and clean for a 7 year old machine, but still running too slowly for me to be able to work from it effectively. Lovely for MMM web surfing, but once I get into actual work, no bueno.

My new job primarily uses google docs, and for the occasional and less in-depth work I'd be doing from home, I'm thinking a chromebook might be sufficient.

Anyone have experience with a chromebook? My options are to plonk real $ into a new Macbook (oh how I want to...but frugality!), purchase a used macbook, or just buy a $199 chromebook (or even a used one?).

Advice?

I've been really happy with my macbook for the last 7 years. I was really hoping to make it to a solid 10, but that might not happen given the new job. I like the reliability of the mac machines, but then again, I like the idea of being able to delay the purchase of a new "real" computer by a few more years. I use a mac desktop at work, no real interest in moving to a windows or linux platform, though I might be persuadable if anyone has good suggestions on that front.

Thanks!

Guardian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Macbook vs. Chromebook?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 02:00:55 AM »
Just my two cents: