Author Topic: Lucrative contract position or stick with a job I like  (Read 1653 times)

happyuk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Software and IT recipes
Lucrative contract position or stick with a job I like
« on: January 29, 2019, 02:46:39 PM »
I'm just seeking some outside perspectives about an ongoing dilemma I have.

Like many other people on this forum I am a software developer, and have been doing this more or less constantly since 2006.

During the period from late 2012 to the spring of 2015 I had gone through a number of unsatisfactory positions, before seeking out and getting a position at a large engineering company in April 2015.  This is the first position I have have had where I had been truly happy with my surroundings, colleagues, managers, pay and conditions.  Since joining the company I have never felt compelled to seek positions elsewhere, in spite of the inevitable ups and downs that you get with any job.

To throw a spanner in the works , a former PhD colleague of mine whom I have known for 20+ years, has been nagging me to go and do contracting for his consultancy (in the telecoms sector) for a large defence company, for about the last 4 years on and off.  Recently he has upped the ante by dangling a very attractive rate (£550 / ~$700 per DAY) in front of me.

Never before have I felt more in two minds about doing something like this.  When working for companies whose culture I hated, I needed little encouragement to spruce up my CV and start looking.

My dilemma is that I still REALLY like my job, the Indian team I work with, the culture of continuous improvement, the relatively short (10-15 mins) commute.  And it offers ample scope for self improvement, more than I could physically take on.