Author Topic: Looking to make a 2016 IRA contribution...should I wait it out a bit?  (Read 2029 times)

TedW

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Ok, ok, I know.  No one can time the market, I'm just feeling a little timid about funding my 2016 SEP IRA right now.   Wondering if I should wait a few days or weeks to see if this very high market will have any sort of correction in the short term.  My plan was contributing 10k (which is a lot for me) to FSTVX, Fidelity's version of Vanguard's VTSAX.  I know most of you prefer Vanguard, but I like the handholding I get from Fidelity.

With the market at such a high, I may consider adding a total bond fund as well or just using the 4 in 1 fund, with the intention of getting back to the total stock market fund once (if) market levels off.  I'm pretty new to this and so happy to have found the MMM community.  I am grateful for any input.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:15:49 PM by TedW »

MrGville

• Stubble
Re: Looking to contribute to my 2016 SEP IRA...should I wait it out a bit?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 01:18:49 PM »
I would go ahead and contribute the money...especially since you will likely not be touching these funds for a long time (potentially decades, but I don't know how old you are).  People have been worried about the high level of the market for a while now, but the S&P 500 has increased ~4.2% over the last 30 days.  Anyone holding onto their money back on January 23rd missed out on 4.2% gains (Assuming they would have bought an S&P index).

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Looking to make a 2016 IRA contribution...should I wait it out a bit?
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 01:22:14 PM »
yup - that's market timing.  Even more to the point, you only have ~8 weeks, so the window is pretty narrow to count on any particular metric to push prices up or down significantly.