Author Topic: Looking to become a West Coast™ Software Engineer, but I need advice  (Read 7751 times)

ModernIncantations

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I am looking to cash in on those sweet tech city salaries on the west coast -- Washington and California especially,
but I am open to other suggestions.

Are there any software developers here in those locations now with inflated salaries? As a developer with 2 years
experience what companies should I target, what salary range, and what area? Skill set is below. I am happy to
answer detailed questions.

edit: 2 years working experience post college, not necessarily <= 2 years with each technology below.

I am a web application developer. My technology experience worth nothing, from strongest to weakest:

Java, JavaScript (+popular frameworks), HTML(5), CSS(3), Tomcat, SQL (SQL Server, MySQL, Oracle), C#, C/C++, Python

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Looking to become a West Coast™ Software Engineer, but I need advice
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2013, 04:16:01 PM »
General advice: if you're looking to build wealth as quickly as possible, Seattle beats California hands down for tech workers. California has a greater quantity of companies and slightly higher salaries. It also has massively higher housing costs and a high state income tax (Washington has no state income tax). Seattle is also a better place than Silicon Valley for people who want to save money by walking and biking to work and other locations. San Francisco is a fine densely-populated city that is walkable in many areas (perhaps even moreso than Seattle), but most of the jobs are in the suburban car-dependent areas an hour drive south of SF.

dadof4

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 05:07:45 PM »