Author Topic: Looking for work in another state? Have you done it? Have you hired some-one?  (Read 6524 times)

Melody

• Handlebar Stache
I am looking to relocate to another state, 3 hrs flight away. So far I am not having much luck.
Just wondering if any readers have personal experiences in this area? If so, did you use a friend's address in a new city? What were your experiences?

Some background about me: I live in Perth (Australia) and am trying to move to Melbourne (Australia).  I am a recently qualified CPA, with 3 yrs of experience in Tax and 3 years as a management accountant, looking for management accountant roles. My understanding (from reading salary surveys) of the Melbourne job market it that it's generally weak (unemployment is 6.2%, but this number hides a lot of white collar underemployment) but improving and the easiest area to get employment in is the recently qualified space, due to many prior years of off shoring entry level roles and low graduate intakes due to a cautious economy leading to less recently qualified accountants. I have read the salary surveys and adjusted my expectations accordingly...

However I am getting very few leads. I have been using my local address on my CV, however when I have had a lead have been stressing that I am more than happy to pay for my own interview flights and relocation and that I am ready to hit the ground running with 4 weeks notice (standard notice period in white collar work in Australia applicable if the company is to hire anyone currently employed).  I really thought I would get more leads, I think I have a strong CV (started in Big 4 firm before moving to an well respected publicly listed company), feedback from the recruiters who have bothered to get in touch has been good. Is the address getting me screened out?