Author Topic: Looking for General Career Advice  (Read 1564 times)

Navion33

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Looking for General Career Advice
« on: April 13, 2021, 02:05:24 PM »
Hello Mustachians, I recently found out about the community and wanted to ask for some insight/advice from others about working in government vs industry.

Situation: 25yr old currently working in a Government job as an engineer. I signed on with a contract when I graduated University due to an incentive of lump sum, student loan repayment plan and yearly salary increase. The contract was meant to keep me tied for 2 years (ends this September) and once it is complete I am free to stay or leave. I have already payed off my student loans ahead of time and as well a small car loan, so currently I have no debt and that burden has been lifted off of me.

What I am conflicted with is about the future prospects of career advancement vs. actual work experience. I want to gain actual "engineer" experience in my field and I feel that government sector does not provide that. The government sector on the other hand provides a "comfortable" living which is nice on its own. Would pursuing industry be the best option for both work experience and increasing income? I apologize if this question feels a bit open-ended since I can't pinpoint my problem and I am just generally "lost" on what to do now.

Finances:
Income: 65k
Net Income: 41k
Savings/Checking: 6k
401K: 13K
Investment: 7k

Thanks for reading my rant. Any info or advice would be appreciated!

draco44

• Pencil Stache
Re: Looking for General Career Advice
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2021, 02:12:15 PM »