Author Topic: Long distance calling  (Read 4648 times)

kdms

• Stubble
Long distance calling
« on: April 30, 2012, 08:46:49 AM »
Very exciting....my very first post.  :)

I'm fairly new to the whole Mustachian-style of thinking.  We've been struggling with managing our living expenses for quite a while now (almost a full year, actually) and it's been an uphill battle with all the emotional baggage that comes from the profound shift of thinking required to go from 'consumer' to 'I'd rather keep my money for myself and my family, thank you very much'.

Once the tracking expenses phase was done and we faced the numbers, went through the 'OMFG I can't believe we've been so stupid' phase, kicked our own butts across the very mortgaged house a few times, and actually got down to dealing with the mess, it became evident fairly quickly that yes, we could live within our means, and no, it isn't going to be all that cushy in the short term.  This is primarily because of the attitude change required to go with it.  We've made a huge amount of progress in a very short period of time (managed to pay 25k out of 30k consumer debt since last July) and have tweaked our expenses, but the last 5k is dragging and I'm down to the magnifying glass looking for ways to improve cashflow.

That being said, when I found the MMM community last week, the post regarding treating debt as an emergency struck me so much that I spent the next three hours figuring out how to shave $100 off my phone bill.