Author Topic: Logistics of living off savings  (Read 6585 times)

bluetron

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Logistics of living off savings
« on: September 05, 2013, 05:01:55 PM »
Hello-
I am hoping someone can help me or direct me to a thread that will be useful.
I am fairly new to this blog and forum, but MMM's ideas have really resonated with me, and it turns out I have been living a fairly Mustachian lifestyle even before I found this forum.
I am almost 40 and close to retiring, but live in San Francisco which is a pretty expensive city, and has high real estate values. I calculate that my family will need 50K a year to live on, and including our home equity, we have approximately 1.5 million saved. So far so good, right? The problem is that approximately 700K is in our home value and 450K is in retirement accounts. So we only have about 350K to really work with (in stock funds and Lending Club). So it seems that to retire and actually live off savings we would need to either sell the house and move someplace cheaper, or liquidate retirement funds early with a penalty. Am I missing something? Is there a way we could stay in our house and not touch retirement funds until 60?

beltim

• Magnum Stache
Re: Logistics of living off savings
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 05:13:34 PM »
It's going to be a tough road with so much equity tied up in your house.  Your liquid net worth is about $800k, so a $50k/year withdrawal would be a 6.25% withdrawal rate, substantially higher than most recommend.

The retirement accounts can be accessed early without penalty if you take 72(t) distributions – basically, you have to commit to 5 years of withdrawals at a given rate.  That frees up the retirement funds for your use.  An online calculate suggests that you could withdraw $14-15k per year this way (I haven't checked that math).