Author Topic: Live where you want to live or live where you can retire earliest?  (Read 8024 times)

Hoosier Daddy

• Stubble
  • Indiana Hoosiers: 5 Banners and counting
I'm curious if any of you have gone through this dilemma: you would love to live in some place but you don't because it's too expensive and it would likely delay your retirement with the double edged sword of having a lower savings rate due to high COL and needing to save more due to a high COL. If so, would you mind sharing your story and how you went about deciding what to do?

My situation: I live in a small town in indiana. I moved here BECAUSE I found MMM. I graduated college and had a ton of debt, found MMM and looked for the best job I could find in the cheapest place I could find. 18 months later I paid off all my debt. Before graduating college I moved to Miami and loved everything about it, but moved back to indiana because I couldn't pay debt and live there... Now that I'm debt free I'm wondering if I should go bsck? I see a lot of people here live in LA and make it work so there must be a way.... Thoughts?

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: Live where you want to live or live where you can retire earliest?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 04:18:52 PM »
I think its better to live where you love and make it work. It is possible to be mustachian anywhere by living with roommates, living outside the town center etc.
If you are happy you will do better at work which means you are more likely to get a raise, etc. I wouldn't buy property in Miami though. It's in a bubble and climate change doesn't look too good for it.

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 04:38:34 PM »
Live where it will make you happy:))

use2betrix

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 04:44:57 PM »