Author Topic: Live at home or move out?  (Read 14957 times)

maginvizIZ

• Bristles
Live at home or move out?
« on: May 01, 2016, 08:25:17 PM »
I'm 25, with one year left of my masters in finance program. I've been stashing money in the stock market since 2011, I have $60k.

I have about $15k left of school, $6k loan... Basically I can financially move out. But should I? Would you keep living for close to free at home or move out?

Any thoughts of buying duplexs to rent one out? Since I'm single I could take advantage of first hole buyer and buy a quadplex or something and live in one unit?

Basically what makes most financial sense, and at what point is it not cool to be living at your parents house?

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Re: Live at home or move out?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2016, 08:41:09 PM »
First step to being a Mustacian is not giving a flying fuck what is perceived as "cool." You shouldn't care what others think if the situation makes the most sense for the parties involved.

Are your parents allowing you to be an adult - meaning they're not imposing curfews, demanding to control your coming/going, and otherwise trying to keep the parent/child dynamic alive? Great! You have nice, well-adjusted parents and it makes sense to stay with them if they're happy with the situation.

If you and your parents get along well, you are not taking advantage (if you're not paying them rent or utilities, you better be doing all your own cleaning, cooking, shopping and helping out around the house as needed) then living at home and socking away as much money as possible while avoiding debt is absolutely the smart thing to do.

Awesome job so far with the investing! :)

Zikoris

• Magnum Stache
  • Vancouverstachian
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2016, 09:25:00 PM »