Author Topic: listen to arebelspy answer the most common "Ask a Mustachian" FAQs!  (Read 46470 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Definitely.  Agreed.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

tj

• Handlebar Stache
Re: listen to arebelspy answer the most common "Ask a Mustachian" FAQs!
« Reply #101 on: January 13, 2016, 09:21:30 AM »
I guess what my question for Joshua would be what his intention is with these podcasts. Who is the target audience that he is trying to reach? I listened to the Nords interview and the most recent one about inflation. When I listen to the interviews, I get the sense that he is a very skeptical guy and that he himself is "not drinking the mustachian kool aid", that he doesn't think that the ideas that are promoted here and at other similar forums are things that people can actually do to create their own financial freedom with zero interest in finances. That kind of rubs me the wrong way, because while I definitely enjoy the interviews, this platform doesn't seem to be one that is necessarily promoting mustachianism, but affirming the general public's belief that it's not possible to actually retire early unless one has this extensive financial knowledge/background.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 09:26:00 AM by tj »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
I think his audience is more normal people, not necessarily Mustachians, and the ideas are around personal finance in general.

Early retirement is a tiny fraction of the overall podcasts, and just one thing he talks about (infrequently) to present the idea to people, or for people who are a fan. It's not a big topic of the podcast overall.