Poll

Lets say you have a 10% raise tomorrow (of your net of taxes pay), how will your spending increase over a year or two? Be honest

0% : I am totally immune to lifestyle inflation
79 (39.3%)
1% to 2% : I can control most lifestyle inflation
70 (34.8%)
3% to 4% : I will save most of it
39 (19.4%)
5% to 9% : I have been delaying stuff that I can afford now but I'll save some
13 (6.5%)
10% + : I save enough already
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 193

Author Topic: Lifestyle inflation  (Read 14664 times)

pom

• Bristles
Lifestyle inflation
« on: August 08, 2013, 03:32:02 AM »
I am just curious to know if most of us here have been good at fighting lifestyle inflation.

For me it has been a struggle that I mostly won but a struggle nonetheless:

I have been working for 17 years.
Gross pay increased 170% after inflation
Net pay doubled after inflation  - damn you progressive tax rates ;)
Spending increased slightly less than 20% after inflation (admitedly my wife pays part of the rent now).

So historically I am in the 1%-2% zone. I suspect that even with all of my good intentions, a 10% raise would result in a 2% increase in consumption; maybe not immediately but over time it will.

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
Re: Lifestyle inflation
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2013, 03:56:45 AM »
Well, I might as well crosspost the following observations about lifestyle inflation and FI:

I once ran the numbers with these rough parameters:  50% initial savings rate, 5% (real) annual raise, 5% (real) annual returns on savings.

If you maintained the 50% savings rate (i.e., you inflated your lifestyle with salary), it takes 25 years to reach a 4% SWR.

If you kept your original expense rate (i.e., no lifestyle inflation), it only took 15 years to reach the 4% SWR.  By that time you were saving 71%.

Obviously, the parameters matter.  But this lifestyle inflation has a large impact no matter how you slice it.