Author Topic: Left my phone at home - feels nice  (Read 6180 times)

dizzean

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Left my phone at home - feels nice
« on: April 15, 2013, 10:24:31 AM »
I'm still in the process of shaking my $150 a month cell phone plan for both my wife and myself.

I think today will be a good exercise for me as I have left my phone at home.  I work in IT so I have all day access to my Facebook, E-mail and a phone, so I am still pretty well connected.

I have already noticed a nagging feeling to grab my phone and distract myself with random crap on it, it feels really nice to not have it.

It makes me wonder if I could get away with just a dumb phone or an iPhone with Google Voice.

icefr

• Bristles
Re: Left my phone at home - feels nice
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 03:22:03 PM »
Woohoo! I debated going down to a dumbphone, but I really enjoy having my phone around for wifi purposes and I was able to switch to Ting without needing to buy a new phone.

I was paying ~$85/month (with taxes) with Sprint and April may only cost me $20+taxes with Ting. March was $29+taxes and February $32+taxes. I'll use up the last of my credits this month, but even paying $30ish per month is a pretty good improvement. I don't really miss the data at all!

dizzean

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 04:04:27 PM »
Woohoo! I debated going down to a dumbphone, but I really enjoy having my phone around for wifi purposes and I was able to switch to Ting without needing to buy a new phone.

I was paying ~$85/month (with taxes) with Sprint and April may only cost me $20+taxes with Ting. March was $29+taxes and February $32+taxes. I'll use up the last of my credits this month, but even paying $30ish per month is a pretty good improvement. I don't really miss the data at all!

The only "excuse" I have for keeping data is that I am a complete idiot in the car when it comes to directions so I rely on GPS/Google Navigation a whole lot.

Daley

• Magnum Stache