Author Topic: Learning Piano as an Adult?  (Read 3954 times)

frugalfoothills

• Bristles
    • Bulls, Bears and Beers
Learning Piano as an Adult?
« on: December 17, 2019, 11:43:07 AM »
I have always wanted to learn to play the piano. I have never taken music lessons of any kind. I don't know how to read music. I don't own a piano. Minor details!!

Has anyone here learned to play from total beginner level as an adult (I'm 30)? Where should I even start? I'm assuming I need to buy a keyboard. Any recommendations for a Not Too Crappy model to learn on, while also keeping it budget-friendly (in case I end up sucking and give up)? Any tips for self-teaching, or am I nuts to even want to try? Feels like there must be apps and books and YouTube videos out there for those wanting to attempt to self-teach? The Mustachian in me cringes at lesson costs, but maybe they're worth it? Any tips on finding an instructor? Googling "piano lessons in my city" returns about a million results and I'm overwhelmed. Better to go with a well-known company with teachers on the payroll or to try to find a private instructor... I'm picturing an old granny working out of her living room?

I am not looking to become Chopin here. Just hoping to finally explore learning a new skill that I've always dreamed of developing. Any input welcome & appreciated.

MilesTeg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Learning Piano as an Adult?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2019, 12:03:04 PM »
I have always wanted to learn to play the piano. I have never taken music lessons of any kind. I don't know how to read music. I don't own a piano. Minor details!!