Author Topic: Lawyers - Share your career experiences?  (Read 9237 times)

Gizsuat2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Lawyers - Share your career experiences?
« on: September 25, 2015, 11:21:18 AM »
If you're willing to share, I'd love to hear about some of the legal careers of some other wannabe (or already there!) Mustachians.  Any thoughts appreciated!

If you're a lawyer ...
1) What area of law do you practice?
2) What do you like about what you do?
3) What do you not like about what you do?
4) How many hours a week do you typically work? 
5) Do you have control over your hours? 
6) Could you work less if you wanted to?
7) Updated, by popular demand: How much do you make in a year?

I've been practicing law for about 8 years now and am considering my career options going forward.  I've had some great PMs with attorneys these past few days, so I was hoping to keep the inspiration moving forward.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2015, 10:02:57 PM by Gizsuat2 »

hoodedfalcon

• Pencil Stache
Re: Lawyers - Share your career experiences?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 11:26:27 AM »
1) What area of law do you practice? I work at a non-profit doing policy and advocacy
2) What do you like about what you do? I get to help change laws and positively impact folks who have a tough lot in life.
3) What do you not like about what you do? I do not like a lot of the deception around lobbying. I also miss one on one representation.
4) How many hours a week do you typically work? 35-38
5) Do you have control over your hours? generally 9-5ish, some evening work, weekend work
6) Could you work less if you wanted to? Yes. Always.

HappyHoya

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 11:35:13 AM »
If you're willing to share, I'd love to hear about some of the legal careers of some other wannabe (or already there!) Mustachians.  Any thoughts appreciated!

If you're a lawyer ...