Author Topic: Law school?  (Read 3018 times)

norabird

• Walrus Stache
Law school?
« on: June 27, 2018, 03:10:25 PM »
With the current political landscape I was looking for volunteer opportunities this morning and realized a bunch of the most involved ones were looking for lawyers. I'm not a lawyer (I've always worked on the editorial/rights side in publishing), but it made me think I *could* be one. And now, based purely on that, I'm mulling over law school. I'm thinking of taking the practice LSAT test you can download for free (already printed it) and from there maybe taking the leap to sign up for an LSAT prep class and getting serious about applying.

I have genuinely never considered this an option before in my life, but it's sort of drawing me in as an option I want to pursue. I did work as a paralegal for a big corporate firm my first year of college and know lots of people in the law (my brother is a lawyer, for instance). I did see some peers from my paralegal days really struggle when they finished their law degree during the last recession, and obviously I would prefer not to incur huge amounts of debt. Even though law never really rang my bell previously, I've been exposed to it and I've spent enough time in my current career to know that while I could do it forever if I had my druthers, it's not necessarily my be-all-end-all (I like it a lot, but it doesn't define me as a person).

This probably seems super impulsive (it is!) but while I think about this new idea I'm just looking for stories/feedback from people who went to law school themselves and what their process/trajectory was.

peeps_be_peeping

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Law school?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 03:33:20 PM »
Don't do it. But if you disregard this advice, read Planet Law School by Atticus Falcon.

norabird

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 03:35:36 PM »