Author Topic: Late Starter, Seemingly Limited Options  (Read 13804 times)

no$

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Late Starter, Seemingly Limited Options
« on: April 26, 2015, 08:25:32 PM »
Hello Mustachians,

I'm new to the blog and I've been reading many of the posts for insight into how to handle my money situation but still feel like I can't relate to the examples I've read about. I'll try to make my explanation brief but it will be hard considering how much I have to explain. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

1. I'm 56 years old with no savings account, about $2000 in an IRA I haven't contributed to in years, a lot of bills, and a condo that's underwater and may be impossible to get out of
2. I make about $58K gross yearly but I live in the New York metropolitan area, so the effective salary is probably closer to $28K (based on a New York Times analysis of spending power)
3. I currently owe $182K on my condo but its estimated worth is about $125K. Although I've never missed or been late on payments, Bank of America sold my mortgage to a credit collection company and where I live, creditors have the right to go after me for anything less than the full amount I owe in case I decided to short sell or do some other type of creative selling/financing. That explains my inability to move, in addition to it being hard to find a job just being a bookkeeper.

Now for my expense breakdown.
Income after taxes:        3600.00 + 700.00(wife) = 4,300.00

mortgage                         1334.22
condo maintenance fee   200.00
gas/electric                     50.00
internet                             95.00 (Only one provider in my area so no choice)
car insurance                   109.00 (Just got a new quote- cheapest price)
Gasoline / tolls / parking   220.00 (Drive about 10K miles a year. I live in Jersey City, right over the river from New York)
Discover Card                   200.00 (Consolidated 3 consumer credit card balances with zero interest to pay them off)