Author Topic: Lasik  (Read 18732 times)

Patrick A

• Stubble
Lasik
« on: June 18, 2015, 08:58:25 AM »
The wife may be getting Lasik soon and we are reading & studying up on it.  Anyone here have good/bad experiences, tips, thoughts for us as we do our research?

Thanks!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Lasik
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 09:01:12 AM »
Previous discussion:
http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/should-i-get-lasik/

(There's others, but that was the longest thread on it.)

Reading that will give you lots of opinions/info.

I'm considering getting LASIK overseas at some point.  Seems useful.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 09:01:27 AM »
Following, because DH is considering it.

I hear pricing can be quite variable based on deals, groupons, who you know, where you go sort of thing. How much did people pay for their Lasik is my add on question?

JLee

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2015, 09:19:29 AM »
I've been thinking about it for a few years as well...really tempting.

abiteveryday

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2015, 09:25:13 AM »
I got it about 6 years ago, and it cost around $2k.     I was utterly blind without correction before the surgery, and have perfect vision now.     I consider it EASILY the best $2k I've ever spent.

Stachetastic

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2015, 09:31:35 AM »
I had mine done a year ago this month. I paid 4k, after discounts for having a certain vision insurance (that didn't actually cover anything) and paying cash. It was quick, easy, and worth every penny. I highly recommend it to anyone!