Author Topic: landing a job "out of your league" - share your success stories!  (Read 7354 times)

Double Yu

• Stubble
  • W is for Wanderbird
landing a job "out of your league" - share your success stories!
« on: February 24, 2018, 10:10:50 AM »
I need encouragement.

I'm applying for what is essentially a "dream job" though I don't have much in the way of formal background. I'm basically a hobbyist but I know I'd regret not trying to land the job if I chicken out and don't submit an application.

So, I'm trying to write up the best cover letter in existence to explain why I'd be great at the job. I understand the competition, given that the position is at a university where they have degree programs that turn out graduates with already full resumes listing lots of experience in the field - and I've seen the resumes/experience of previous hires. And yet...

And yet maybe they'll decide to take a chance on a former SAHM turned parental-caregiver with basically a spotty employment history (in the generic admin assistant direction that's totally unrelated) who's pieced together opportunities to engage in the pertinent hobby in spite of Other Responsibilities.... 

but I'm seriously lacking in confidence.

Bring me your success stories in which it was a  long shot but somebody gave you a chance anyway. I need to know it's not impossible :)

JLee

• Walrus Stache
Re: landing a job "out of your league" - share your success stories!
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2018, 10:22:46 AM »
How you write your resume may help significantly - can a career center/etc help you articulate your relevant life experience?

I did land a job that would ordinarily have been out of my league, but it was an internal referral and I had no competition (the job was created with me in mind), so my experience isn't likely to help you in this case.

MrThatsDifferent

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2018, 10:35:42 AM »