Author Topic: Kill off remaining Student Loans? New(used) Car? Maxing 401k?  (Read 5841 times)

Apocalyptica602

• Bristles
Hey everybody,

I've been reading MMM for a while and learned quite a bit, he's definitely made a positive impact on my life.

Anyway I have a few questions specific to my situation.

Background

Profession: Graduated college in May of 2011, I'm a Mechanical Engineer. Currently work in a large international "Medical Device Manufacturing" company.
Compensation: ~67k/year, 401k with a 6% match AND pension (apparently that's a big deal as most non-government companies don't have both?)
Special Note: For the first 3 years of my employment I'm in a rotational program, so I move 3x in 3 years. I started out in Baltimore MD back in June 2011. Going to be moving to Northern NJ in June of this year.

Car: 1999 Honda Prelude with 70k miles on it (bought it from a family friend who's sister passed away in 2008 with 38k miles on it $7,000 paid in cash)

Low mileage and for the most part has been great, except I just put about $1500 of work into it, wheel bearing, tie rods, seized rear brake calipers, yada yada yada lot of things went bad at once. Also back in September I got T-boned on the passengers side. Huge dent which would require a new door / rear quarterpanel and about $2500 dollars worth of work. No claim on the insurance since the collision was deemed 'shared fault' so I chose not to fix it and live with the ugly dent because the door still works and the power window still even works somehow.

Student Loans: When I graduated I had about 35k of purely federal direct sub/unsub loans varying from 4.5% - 6.5%

I've been paying them off aggressively and just knocked out the last of my 6.5% loan, bringing me down to 18.5k remaining debt.