Author Topic: kid graduating college w/ some savings; How to start his financial journey?  (Read 1575 times)

AmberTheCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
hi. my oldest kiddo graduates from college in the spring. He's pretty frugal; has no debt and will have $15k in savings.

any thoughts we can suggest to him as he starts his own life/job? what should he do with his savings? IRAs? (roth? traditional?) investments? car? european travel?

he will need to buy a car because he's using ours now, and we want our younger kids to use it when he gets a job.

His projected first job income will be from $50-65k per year.  Basically - what are beginning words you impart to someone just starting out without debt? I so appreciate your thoughts.

Jaayse

• Bristles
I was in a somewhat similar situation when I graduated.  The best thing my parents did with me was that my dad took me to a Fidelity location and helped me set up 5k in an S&P 500 index fund account (early 2011).  I pretty much ignored that money for a while on my dad's advice and when I looked back it was over 6k (mid 2013).  From that point on I stashed my money in that account. 

Seeing the growth compared to everything else I was doing was the biggest lesson learned, and although I wouldn't find MMM and learn as much about investing until early 2017, I was glad to have an alternative to my horrible savings account that paid me $1 for my 20k per month. 

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
To him: Develop a budget and a system to handle bills, etc so everything gets paid on time. This can take some trial and error, that's ok. It's a learning curve.