Author Topic: Just Woke Up To Discover I'm Drowning  (Read 75238 times)

Zx

• Bristles
Just Woke Up To Discover I'm Drowning
« on: April 05, 2015, 10:38:55 AM »
Greetings! I found MMM a couple of days ago after clicking an article on Yahoo about the Go Curry couple who retired at 30.

Just a little surfing and reading and blowing out my cerebral cortex and I am AWAKE and ALL IN. But I'm in worse shape than anyone I've read about so far. Perhaps someone could give me some pointers?

I'm 50 and so is my wife. I work as an Instrumentation Technician and gross about 70k. My wife is self-employed as a Licensed Massage Therapist and makes about 12K, so our income is around 82K.

Debts:

105,000 in school loans, which I'm not paying at the moment

19000 in credit card debt

17000 owed on 2012 Nissan Sentra. Our other vehicle is a 1988 Toyota Landcruiser, which just enjoyed 6000 worth of repairs...all of which went to credit card.

I also have some personal loans from family that I wish to repay ASAP: 13,900

I am on a rice and beans diet, buy veggies once in a while to juice. For health reasons I no longer eat dairy or meat. Someone told me that means I'm vegan, but it's not a moral choice, merely a health choice. I've been doing that for two weeks now and have found it's also a financial boost!

My wife likes this whole idea of the MMM life but is loathe to give up shopping at Whole Foods, New Seasons, and Trader Joe's as she comes from a family that ate only organic, non-GMO, simple foods. She also likes nice things (who doesn't), likes to go to the beach for the weekend and stay in hotels and eat out (who wouldn't), etc, but I am more than willing to give it up for 10 or 15 years to get to my goal.

Just today she was looking through some ads and announced that Seaside has a new hotel with a covered salt water pool. Oh, have I ever swam in one of those, it's wonderful...and I repeated what is now my mantra: Sounds fun, too bad I'm looking for ways to NOT spend money.